National Trust Enterprises: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The) has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to February 2025 it reported turnover of £73m.
- Registered name
- NATIONAL TRUST (ENTERPRISES) LIMITED (THE)
- Company number
- 01083105
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 22 November 1972
- Registered office area
- Swindon
- Industry code on the register
- 47190: Retail trade
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to February 2025, filed 8 October 2025
What does National Trust Enterprises do?
National Trust Enterprises is the trading arm of the National Trust, the conservation charity that looks after historic houses, gardens, coastline and countryside across England, Wales and Northern Ireland. It runs the Trust's shops, cafés, holiday cottages and other commercial activities at its places and online. Its profits go to the charity, helping to fund the care of the places the National Trust looks after.
In brief: charity trading arm · shops and cafés · holiday cottages · profits fund conservation
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: nationaltrust.org.uk.
Who owns National Trust Enterprises?
National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The), company number 01083105, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs National Trust Enterprises?
The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The).
All 7 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| James Hywel Bennett | 24 May 2017 |
| Sharon Pickford | 28 November 2018 |
| Jo Cooke | 20 January 2021 |
| Lesley Morisetti | 22 July 2021 |
| Paul Roberts | 1 October 2022 |
| Richard Hethersett Huntington | 2 January 2025 |
| Denise Nichola Jagger | 1 September 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did National Trust Enterprises file?
National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The) reported turnover of £73m in the year to February 2025. That was up 4.7% on £69m the year before.
It reported 671 employees. The year before it reported 665.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £12m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £12m the year before.
Staff costs came to £20m. That is an average of £30,000 a head.
| Measure | Feb 2025 | Feb 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £73m | £69m |
| Pre-tax profit | £12m (filed) | £12m (filed) |
| Employees | 671 | 665 |
| Staff costs | £20m | £19m |
| Average staff cost per head | £30,000 | £28,000 |
| Bank and cash | £0.3m | £18k |
| Interest received | £0.3m |
Read the accounts to February 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against National Trust Enterprises?
National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The) has registered 2 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
The outstanding charge
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| The National Trust for Places of Historic Interest or Natural Beauty | 18 October 2017 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
National Trust Enterprises files as National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The), with turnover of £73m in its latest filed year.
Questions about National Trust Enterprises
What does National Trust Enterprises do?
National Trust Enterprises is the trading arm of the National Trust, the conservation charity that looks after historic houses, gardens, coastline and countryside across England, Wales and Northern Ireland. It runs the Trust's shops, cafés, holiday cottages and other commercial activities at its places and online. Its profits go to the charity, helping to fund the care of the places the National Trust looks after.
Who owns National Trust Enterprises?
National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The) has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.
How much does National Trust Enterprises make?
National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The) reported turnover of £73m in the year to February 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £12m.
How many people work at National Trust Enterprises?
National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The) reported 671 employees in the year to February 2025.
Who runs National Trust Enterprises?
The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The). The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from National Trust (Enterprises) Limited (The)'s filings at Companies House, company number 01083105, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “National Trust Enterprises: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/national-trust-enterprises/. Figures from Companies House filings for NATIONAL TRUST (ENTERPRISES) LIMITED (THE) (01083105).
More from Spark Intel
Company profile
Bet365: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Mitchells & Butlers: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Greene King: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks