Accounts to October 2025 · Group accounts · Filed July 2026

McCarthy Stone: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

McCarthy & Stone Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Mr John Patrick Grayken. In the year to October 2025 McCarthy & Stone Limited reported turnover of £236m.

£236m
Turnover, down 24.2%
-£90m
Pre-tax profit
2,933
Employees
Registered name
MCCARTHY & STONE LIMITED
Company number
06622199
Status
Active
Incorporated
17 June 2008
Registered office area
Bournemouth
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to October 2025, filed 15 July 2026

What does McCarthy Stone do?

McCarthy Stone builds and manages retirement communities, selling and renting apartments designed for people aged over 60. It earns money from selling and letting homes and from ongoing management services, with some developments offering on-site care and support. Residents typically share communal lounges and gardens and have a house manager on site. The company was founded in 1963 by John McCarthy and William Stone and is based in Bournemouth.

In brief: retirement housing · sales and rentals · on-site management and care · founded 1963

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: mccarthyandstone.co.uk.

Who owns McCarthy Stone?

McCarthy & Stone Limited
McCarthy Stone · company 06622199
Mr John Patrick Grayken
Individual

The Companies House register records Mr John Patrick Grayken as the person with significant control of McCarthy & Stone Limited, company number 06622199.

The register names an individual, not a company, as its controller.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs McCarthy Stone?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for McCarthy & Stone Limited.

All 3 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Nicholas John Dell29 August 2025
Andrew John Burrett1 October 2025
Matthew John Pratt5 January 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did McCarthy Stone file?

McCarthy & Stone Limited reported turnover of £236m in the year to October 2025. That was down 24.2% on £311m the year before.

It reported 2,933 employees. The year before it reported 2,877.

It filed a pre-tax loss of £90m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £65m the year before.

Staff costs came to £108m. That is an average of £37,000 a head. It ended the year with £68m at the bank and net assets of £372m.

Oct 2025£45.84£84.17£37.99 loss
Oct 2024£35.41£85.49£20.91 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureOct 2025Oct 2024
Turnover£236m£311m
Pre-tax profit-£90m (filed)-£65m (filed)
Employees2,9332,877
Staff costs£108m£110m
Average staff cost per head£37,000£38,000
Bank and cash£68m£98m
Net assets£372m£475m
Interest paid£19m
Interest received£2m
Directors' pay£1.1m

Read the accounts to October 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against McCarthy Stone?

McCarthy & Stone Limited has registered 5 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
Kroll Trustee Services Limited26 November 2024

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

McCarthy Stone files as McCarthy & Stone Limited, whose person with significant control is Mr John Patrick Grayken, with turnover of £236m in its latest filed year.

Questions about McCarthy Stone

What does McCarthy Stone do?

McCarthy Stone builds and manages retirement communities, selling and renting apartments designed for people aged over 60. It earns money from selling and letting homes and from ongoing management services, with some developments offering on-site care and support. Residents typically share communal lounges and gardens and have a house manager on site. The company was founded in 1963 by John McCarthy and William Stone and is based in Bournemouth.

Who owns McCarthy Stone?

The Companies House register records Mr John Patrick Grayken as the person with significant control of McCarthy & Stone Limited.

How much does McCarthy Stone make?

McCarthy & Stone Limited reported turnover of £236m in the year to October 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £90m.

How many people work at McCarthy Stone?

McCarthy & Stone Limited reported 2,933 employees in the year to October 2025.

Who runs McCarthy Stone?

The Companies House register lists 3 current officers for McCarthy & Stone Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from McCarthy & Stone Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 06622199, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “McCarthy Stone: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/mccarthy-stone/. Figures from Companies House filings for MCCARTHY & STONE LIMITED (06622199).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings