Kier: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Kier Group PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to June 2025 it reported turnover of £4,077m.
- Registered name
- KIER GROUP PLC
- Company number
- 02708030
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 21 April 1992
- Registered office area
- Manchester
- Industry code on the register
- 70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to June 2025, filed 20 November 2025
What does Kier do?
Kier is a construction and infrastructure services company that also develops property. It works as a national contractor with a regional presence across the UK, from Aberdeen to Penzance. Most of its work is for central government departments and regional and local authorities, alongside regulated and private sector clients. It covers the whole life of a project, from developing and designing to building, maintaining and repurposing. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.
In brief: construction and infrastructure services · property development · mainly public sector clients · listed
Source: Kier's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.
Who owns Kier?
Kier Group PLC, company number 02708030, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Kier?
The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Kier Group PLC.
All 9 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Matthew John Lester | 1 January 2020 |
| Clive Graeme Watson | 30 March 2020 |
| Alison Jane Atkinson | 15 December 2020 |
| Margaret Christine Browne | 15 September 2022 |
| Mohammed Habedat Saddiq | 1 January 2024 |
| Stuart John Togwell | 1 October 2024 |
| Anne Elizabeth Baldock | 1 July 2025 |
| Thomas Edward Hinton | 1 January 2026 |
| Stephen John Milne | 17 February 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Kier file?
Kier Group PLC reported turnover of £4,077m in the year to June 2025. That was up 4.4% on £3,905m the year before.
It reported 10,361 employees. The year before it reported 10,218.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £78m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £68m the year before.
Staff costs came to £795m. That is an average of £77,000 a head. It ended the year with £1,689m at the bank and net assets of £517m. It paid dividends of £24m.
| Measure | Jun 2025 | Jun 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £4,077m | £3,905m |
| Pre-tax profit | £78m (filed) | £68m (filed) |
| Employees | 10,361 | 10,218 |
| Staff costs | £795m | £735m |
| Average staff cost per head | £77,000 | £72,000 |
| Bank and cash | £1,689m | £1,563m |
| Net assets | £517m | £520m |
| Dividends paid | £24m | £7m |
| Interest paid | £44m | |
| Interest received | £8m | |
| Directors' pay | £9m |
Read the accounts to June 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Kier files as Kier Group PLC, with turnover of £4,077m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Kier
What does Kier do?
Kier is a construction and infrastructure services company that also develops property. It works as a national contractor with a regional presence across the UK, from Aberdeen to Penzance. Most of its work is for central government departments and regional and local authorities, alongside regulated and private sector clients. It covers the whole life of a project, from developing and designing to building, maintaining and repurposing. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.
Who owns Kier?
Kier Group PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.
How much does Kier make?
Kier Group PLC reported turnover of £4,077m in the year to June 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £78m.
How many people work at Kier?
Kier Group PLC reported 10,361 employees in the year to June 2025.
Who runs Kier?
The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Kier Group PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Kier Group PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 02708030, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Kier: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/kier/. Figures from Companies House filings for KIER GROUP PLC (02708030).
More from Spark Intel
Company profile
Balfour Beatty: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Barratt Redrow: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Taylor Wimpey: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks