Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed June 2026

Howdens: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Howden Joinery Group PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to December 2025 it reported turnover of £2,418m.

£2,418m
Turnover, up 4.1%
£345m
Pre-tax profit
n/d
Employees
Registered name
HOWDEN JOINERY GROUP PLC
Company number
02128710
Status
Active
Incorporated
7 May 1987
Registered office area
n/d
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 4 June 2026

What does Howdens do?

Howdens supplies fitted kitchens, joinery and related products to builders and tradespeople, selling from a network of local depots rather than to the general public. It makes money on the kitchens, doors, flooring and appliances that trade customers buy on credit accounts and fit for their own clients. Each depot holds stock locally, and the company makes many of its kitchen cabinets in its own UK factories. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: trade-only kitchen supplier · local depots · makes its own cabinets · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: howdenjoinery.com.

Who owns Howdens?

Howden Joinery Group PLC
Howdens · company 02128710
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Howden Joinery Group PLC, company number 02128710, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Howdens?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Howden Joinery Group PLC.

All 10 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Forbes McNaughton30 May 2014
William Andrew Livingston2 April 2018
Louise Helen Provan1 November 2019
Peter John Ventress1 July 2022
Louis Leslie Alexander Eperjesi1 June 2023
Vanda Murray1 February 2024
Suzy Efua Gloria Anne Hester1 July 2024
Roisin Helen Currie1 July 2024
Timothy Ralph Henry Lodge1 January 2025
Jacqueline Wynn Callaway2 June 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Howdens file?

Howden Joinery Group PLC reported turnover of £2,418m in the year to December 2025. That was up 4.1% on £2,322m the year before.

The year before it reported 12,607.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £345m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £328m the year before.

It ended the year with £345m at the bank and net assets of £1,191m.

Dec 2024£29.63£56.24£14.13£14.13 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£2,418m£2,322m
Pre-tax profit£345m (filed)£328m (filed)
Employeesn/d12,607
Staff costsn/d£688m
Average staff cost per headn/d£55,000
Bank and cash£345m£344m
Net assets£1,191m£1,129m
Dividends paidn/d£116m
Interest paid£24m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Howdens?

Howden Joinery Group PLC has registered 7 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Howdens compares

Howdens files as Howden Joinery Group PLC, with turnover of £2,418m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Howdens

What does Howdens do?

Howdens supplies fitted kitchens, joinery and related products to builders and tradespeople, selling from a network of local depots rather than to the general public. It makes money on the kitchens, doors, flooring and appliances that trade customers buy on credit accounts and fit for their own clients. Each depot holds stock locally, and the company makes many of its kitchen cabinets in its own UK factories. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Howdens?

Howden Joinery Group PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Howdens make?

Howden Joinery Group PLC reported turnover of £2,418m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £345m.

Who runs Howdens?

The Companies House register lists 10 current officers for Howden Joinery Group PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Howden Joinery Group PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 02128710, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Howdens: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/howdens/. Figures from Companies House filings for HOWDEN JOINERY GROUP PLC (02128710).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings