Accounts to November 2025 · Group accounts · Filed September 2026

Edinburgh Festival Fringe: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to November 2025 it reported turnover of £13m.

Edinburgh Festival Fringe's pre-tax profit in these accounts is well out of line with the year before. That usually points to a one-off, such as a gain or dividend from inside the group or an acquisition, rather than trading. The figures are shown as filed; the full accounts at Companies House explain what is behind them.

£13m
Turnover, up 54.7%
£5m
Pre-tax profit
56
Employees
Registered name
EDINBURGH FESTIVAL FRINGE SOCIETY LIMITED
Company number
SC046605
Status
Active
Incorporated
22 May 1969
Registered office area
Edinburgh
Industry code on the register
90020: Creative, arts and entertainment activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to November 2025, filed 1 September 2026

What does Edinburgh Festival Fringe do?

The Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society is the charity that supports the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, the open-access arts festival held in the city each August. It does not choose or programme shows; instead it registers participants, publishes the programme, runs a central box office and offers advice to artists and audiences. Its income comes from participant registration fees, ticketing fees, sponsorship, grants and donations. The Fringe itself began in 1947.

In brief: arts festival charity · open-access festival · central box office · Edinburgh

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: edfringe.com.

Who owns Edinburgh Festival Fringe?

Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited, company number SC046605, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Edinburgh Festival Fringe?

The Companies House register lists 18 current officers for Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited.

All 18 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Gillian Anne Harkness-Mckinlay20 November 2018
Tibetari Lang20 November 2018
John Colin Adams20 November 2018
Tara Lianne Marie Stapleton21 August 2019
Bernard Franklin Higgins1 April 2021
Mx Pax Alex Lowey25 August 2022
Sarah Louise Young25 August 2022
Suzanna Lynsey Rosenthal22 August 2023
Anthony Angus Alderson22 August 2023
Harun Musho'D22 August 2023
Julianne Mary Reddin22 August 2023
Valerie Urquhart8 January 2024
Lisa Michelle Vernon20 August 2024
Charles Christopher Dundas20 August 2024
Richard James Williamson20 August 2024
Anthony John Lankester7 April 2025
Apphia Celest Campbell-Baga19 August 2025
Elise Victoria Harris19 August 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Edinburgh Festival Fringe file?

Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited reported turnover of £13m in the year to November 2025. That was up 54.7% on £8m the year before.

It reported 56 employees. The year before it reported 51.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £5m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £0.8m the year before.

Staff costs came to £3m. That is an average of £45,000 a head. It ended the year with £3m at the bank and net assets of £7m.

Nov 2025£19.55£39.39£41.06£41.06 profit
Nov 2024£27.87£62.89£9.25 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureNov 2025Nov 2024
Turnover£13m£8m
Pre-tax profit£5m (filed)£0.8m (filed)
Employees5651
Staff costs£3m£2m
Average staff cost per head£45,000£45,000
Bank and cash£3m£2m
Net assets£7m£1.4m
Directors' pay£9k

Read the accounts to November 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Edinburgh Festival Fringe?

Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited has registered 3 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC3 November 1992

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Edinburgh Festival Fringe files as Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited, with turnover of £13m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Edinburgh Festival Fringe

What does Edinburgh Festival Fringe do?

The Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society is the charity that supports the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, the open-access arts festival held in the city each August. It does not choose or programme shows; instead it registers participants, publishes the programme, runs a central box office and offers advice to artists and audiences. Its income comes from participant registration fees, ticketing fees, sponsorship, grants and donations. The Fringe itself began in 1947.

Who owns Edinburgh Festival Fringe?

Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Edinburgh Festival Fringe make?

Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited reported turnover of £13m in the year to November 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £5m.

How many people work at Edinburgh Festival Fringe?

Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited reported 56 employees in the year to November 2025.

Who runs Edinburgh Festival Fringe?

The Companies House register lists 18 current officers for Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society Limited's filings at Companies House, company number SC046605, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Edinburgh Festival Fringe: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/edinburgh-festival-fringe/. Figures from Companies House filings for EDINBURGH FESTIVAL FRINGE SOCIETY LIMITED (SC046605).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings