Dunelm: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Dunelm Group PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to June 2025 it reported turnover of £1,771m.
- Registered name
- DUNELM GROUP PLC
- Company number
- 04708277
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 23 March 2003
- Registered office area
- Leicester
- Industry code on the register
- 70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to June 2025, filed 26 November 2025
What does Dunelm do?
Dunelm is a homewares and furniture retailer, selling bedding, curtains, furniture, lighting and kitchenware through its own stores and its website. Most of what it sells is its own range, and its stores are large out-of-town shops that also act as collection points for online orders. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.
In brief: homewares and furniture retailer · own ranges · stores and online · listed
Source: Dunelm's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.
Who owns Dunelm?
Dunelm Group PLC, company number 04708277, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Dunelm?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Dunelm Group PLC.
All 12 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Sir William Lester Adderley | 6 April 2003 |
| Marion Jane Sears | 22 July 2004 |
| Ian Alan Bull | 10 July 2019 |
| Vijay Talwar | 1 October 2021 |
| Karen Witts | 9 June 2022 |
| Alison Brittain | 7 September 2022 |
| Luisa Ann Wright | 1 December 2022 |
| Luisa Ann Wright | 1 December 2022 |
| Ajay Kavan | 1 March 2024 |
| Daniel Mark Taylor | 1 March 2024 |
| Katharine Jayne Poulter | 6 May 2025 |
| Clodagh Moriarty | 1 October 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Dunelm file?
Dunelm Group PLC reported turnover of £1,771m in the year to June 2025. That was up 3.8% on £1,707m the year before.
It reported 12,308 employees. The year before it reported 11,909.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £211m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £205m the year before.
Staff costs came to £309m. That is an average of £25,000 a head. It ended the year with £30m at the bank and net assets of £119m. It paid dividends of £157m.
| Measure | Jun 2025 | Jun 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £1,771m | £1,707m |
| Pre-tax profit | £211m (filed) | £205m (filed) |
| Employees | 12,308 | 11,909 |
| Staff costs | £309m | £277m |
| Average staff cost per head | £25,000 | £23,000 |
| Bank and cash | £30m | £23m |
| Net assets | £119m | £138m |
| Dividends paid | £157m | £158m |
| Interest paid | £12m | |
| Directors' pay | £3m |
Read the accounts to June 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Dunelm?
Dunelm Group PLC has registered 1 charge at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Dunelm files as Dunelm Group PLC, with turnover of £1,771m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Dunelm
What does Dunelm do?
Dunelm is a homewares and furniture retailer, selling bedding, curtains, furniture, lighting and kitchenware through its own stores and its website. Most of what it sells is its own range, and its stores are large out-of-town shops that also act as collection points for online orders. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.
Who owns Dunelm?
Dunelm Group PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.
How much does Dunelm make?
Dunelm Group PLC reported turnover of £1,771m in the year to June 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £211m.
How many people work at Dunelm?
Dunelm Group PLC reported 12,308 employees in the year to June 2025.
Who runs Dunelm?
The Companies House register lists 12 current officers for Dunelm Group PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Dunelm Group PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 04708277, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Dunelm: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/dunelm/. Figures from Companies House filings for DUNELM GROUP PLC (04708277).
More from Spark Intel
Company profile
M&S: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
JD Sports: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
John Lewis: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks