Accounts to October 2025 · Group accounts · Filed April 2026

Crest Nicholson: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to October 2025 it reported turnover of £611m.

£611m
Turnover, down 1.2%
£3m
Pre-tax profit
685
Employees
Registered name
CREST NICHOLSON HOLDINGS PLC
Company number
06800600
Status
Active
Incorporated
23 January 2009
Registered office area
Kingston
Industry code on the register
70100: Activities of head offices; management consultancy activities
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to October 2025, filed 19 April 2026

What does Crest Nicholson do?

Crest Nicholson is a housebuilder that builds homes and new communities across the south of England, the Midlands and the south-west. It makes money from selling homes to private buyers, alongside affordable homes it builds for housing associations as part of its developments. The business traces its roots to 1963 and is known for large, planned developments with a mix of houses and apartments. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: housebuilder · private and affordable homes · southern England · listed

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: crestnicholson.com.

Who owns Crest Nicholson?

Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC
Crest Nicholson · company 06800600
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC, company number 06800600, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Crest Nicholson?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Louise Jane Hardy24 January 2018
Iain George Thomas Ferguson16 September 2019
David Llewelyn Arnold1 September 2021
Penelope Thomas27 September 2023
William James Spencer Floydd13 November 2023
Dr Margaret Olivia Semple1 January 2024
Andrew Martyn Clark3 June 2024
Gillian Dawn Celia Kent1 November 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Crest Nicholson file?

Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC reported turnover of £611m in the year to October 2025. That was down 1.2% on £618m the year before.

It reported 685 employees. The year before it reported 704.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £3m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £144m the year before.

Staff costs came to £61m. That is an average of £89,000 a head. It ended the year with £125m at the bank and net assets of £718m. It paid dividends of £6m.

Oct 2025£85.69£0.47 profit
Oct 2024£113.05£23.24 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureOct 2025Oct 2024
Turnover£611m£618m
Pre-tax profit£3m (filed)-£144m (filed)
Employees685704
Staff costs£61m£63m
Average staff cost per head£89,000£89,000
Bank and cash£125m£74m
Net assets£718m£729m
Dividends paid£6m£32m
Interest paid£23m
Interest received£4m
Directors' pay£1.9m

Read the accounts to October 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Crest Nicholson?

Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC has registered 4 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Crest Nicholson files as Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC, with turnover of £611m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Crest Nicholson

What does Crest Nicholson do?

Crest Nicholson is a housebuilder that builds homes and new communities across the south of England, the Midlands and the south-west. It makes money from selling homes to private buyers, alongside affordable homes it builds for housing associations as part of its developments. The business traces its roots to 1963 and is known for large, planned developments with a mix of houses and apartments. It is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Crest Nicholson?

Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Crest Nicholson make?

Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC reported turnover of £611m in the year to October 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £3m.

How many people work at Crest Nicholson?

Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC reported 685 employees in the year to October 2025.

Who runs Crest Nicholson?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC's filings at Companies House, company number 06800600, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Crest Nicholson: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/crest-nicholson/. Figures from Companies House filings for CREST NICHOLSON HOLDINGS PLC (06800600).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings