Accounts to August 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed June 2026

Boots: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Boots UK Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Alliance Boots Holdings Limited. In the year to August 2025 Boots UK Limited reported turnover of £7,545m.

£7,545m
Turnover, up 3.2%
£337m
Pre-tax profit
n/d
Employees
Registered name
BOOTS UK LIMITED
Company number
00928555
Status
Active
Incorporated
11 March 1968
Registered office area
Nottingham
Industry code on the register
47190: Retail trade
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to August 2025, filed 6 June 2026

What does Boots do?

Boots is a health and beauty retailer and pharmacy business in the UK. It runs stores ranging from local community pharmacies to large health and beauty shops, and sells online at boots.com with free collection in store. Alongside retail it offers pharmacy, opticians and hearing care services, and its own consumer healthcare range. Combining pharmacy and healthcare services with a wide beauty range is what sets it apart.

In brief: health and beauty retailer · pharmacy, opticians and hearing care · own stores and online · click and collect

Source: Boots' own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Boots?

Boots UK Limited
Boots · company 00928555
Alliance Boots Holdings Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Alliance Boots Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Boots UK Limited, company number 00928555. Alliance Boots Holdings Limited is itself company number 04452715.

That places Boots UK Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Boots?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Boots UK Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Andrew Richard Thompson2 October 2015
Samuel James Hunter22 May 2023
Jamie Kerruish17 September 2024
Alexander David Baldock1 September 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Boots file?

Boots UK Limited reported turnover of £7,545m in the year to August 2025. That was up 3.2% on £7,313m the year before.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £337m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £269m the year before.

Staff costs came to £1,223m. It ended the year with £63m at the bank and net assets of £995m. It paid dividends of £59m.

Aug 2025£16.21£77.83£4.47 profit
Aug 2024£15.25£81.07£3.68 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureAug 2025Aug 2024
Turnover£7,545m£7,313m
Pre-tax profit£337m (filed)£269m (filed)
Staff costs£1,223m£1,115m
Bank and cash£63m£55m
Net assets£995m£866m
Dividends paid£59m£58m
Interest paid£113m
Interest received£31m
Directors' pay£4m

Read the accounts to August 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Boots?

Boots UK Limited has registered 7 charges at Companies House, of which 5 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 5 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Deutsche Bank Ag, London Branch1 September 2025
U.S. Bank Trustees Limited as Collateral Agent29 August 2025
Jpmorgan Chase Bank, N.A.29 August 2025
Jpmorgan Chase Bank, N.A.29 August 2025
Eagle Star Insurance Company Limited18 November 1981

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Boots compares

Boots files as Boots UK Limited, whose person with significant control is Alliance Boots Holdings Limited, with turnover of £7,545m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Boots

What does Boots do?

Boots is a health and beauty retailer and pharmacy business in the UK. It runs stores ranging from local community pharmacies to large health and beauty shops, and sells online at boots.com with free collection in store. Alongside retail it offers pharmacy, opticians and hearing care services, and its own consumer healthcare range. Combining pharmacy and healthcare services with a wide beauty range is what sets it apart.

Who owns Boots?

The Companies House register records Alliance Boots Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of Boots UK Limited.

How much does Boots make?

Boots UK Limited reported turnover of £7,545m in the year to August 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £337m.

Who runs Boots?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Boots UK Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Boots UK Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 00928555, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Boots: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/boots/. Figures from Companies House filings for BOOTS UK LIMITED (00928555).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings