Accounts to July 2025 · Group accounts · Filed December 2025

Bellway: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Bellway P L C is owned by its shareholders: as a listed company it has no single person with significant control on the register. In the year to July 2025 it reported turnover of £2,783m.

£2,783m
Turnover, up 16.9%
£222m
Pre-tax profit
2,746
Employees
Registered name
BELLWAY P L C
Company number
01372603
Status
Active
Incorporated
9 June 1978
Registered office area
Newcastle
Industry code on the register
41100: Construction of buildings
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to July 2025, filed 4 December 2025

What does Bellway do?

Bellway is a housebuilder that builds and sells new homes across England, Wales and Scotland. It makes money by buying land, securing planning permission and selling the finished homes to private buyers, alongside affordable homes sold to housing associations. It operates through regional divisions and also sells homes under its Ashberry brand. The business was founded in Newcastle upon Tyne in 1946 by the Bell family, and Bellway p.l.c. is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

In brief: housebuilder · private and affordable homes · Newcastle, 1946 · listed on the LSE

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: bellway.co.uk.

Who owns Bellway?

Bellway P L C
Bellway · company 01372603
Its shareholders
Listed on the London Stock Exchange

Bellway P L C, company number 01372603, has no person with significant control on the register. That is normal for a company whose shares trade on a regulated market: ownership sits with the shareholders who hold the shares at any given time.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Bellway?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Bellway P L C.

All 11 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Jason Michael Honeyman1 September 2017
Jill Caseberry1 October 2017
Ian Philip McHoul1 February 2018
John Frederick Tutte1 March 2022
Sarah Jane Whitney1 September 2022
Cecily Diana Davis1 May 2024
Simon Scougall1 August 2024
Shane Michael Doherty2 December 2024
Philip Robert Hope12 August 2025
Gillian Carole Barr15 September 2025
Philip James Harrison1 July 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Bellway file?

Bellway P L C reported turnover of £2,783m in the year to July 2025. That was up 16.9% on £2,380m the year before.

It reported 2,746 employees. The year before it reported 2,773.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £222m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £184m the year before.

Staff costs came to £215m. That is an average of £78,000 a head. It ended the year with £172m at the bank and net assets of £3,556m. It paid dividends of £70m.

Jul 2025£82.98£7.97 profit
Jul 2024£83.96£7.72 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJul 2025Jul 2024
Turnover£2,783m£2,380m
Pre-tax profit£222m (filed)£184m (filed)
Employees2,7462,773
Staff costs£215m£198m
Average staff cost per head£78,000£71,000
Bank and cash£172m£120m
Net assets£3,556m£3,465m
Dividends paid£70m
Interest paid£37m
Interest received£10m
Directors' pay£15m

Read the accounts to July 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Bellway?

Bellway P L C has registered 1 charge at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Bellway files as Bellway P L C, with turnover of £2,783m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Bellway

What does Bellway do?

Bellway is a housebuilder that builds and sells new homes across England, Wales and Scotland. It makes money by buying land, securing planning permission and selling the finished homes to private buyers, alongside affordable homes sold to housing associations. It operates through regional divisions and also sells homes under its Ashberry brand. The business was founded in Newcastle upon Tyne in 1946 by the Bell family, and Bellway p.l.c. is listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Who owns Bellway?

Bellway P L C is owned by its shareholders. As a listed company it is exempt from the register of people with significant control, so no single owner appears at Companies House.

How much does Bellway make?

Bellway P L C reported turnover of £2,783m in the year to July 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £222m.

How many people work at Bellway?

Bellway P L C reported 2,746 employees in the year to July 2025.

Who runs Bellway?

The Companies House register lists 11 current officers for Bellway P L C. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Bellway P L C's filings at Companies House, company number 01372603, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Bellway: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/bellway/. Figures from Companies House filings for BELLWAY P L C (01372603).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings