Accounts to December 2025 · Group accounts · Filed August 2026

OVO Energy: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

OVO Group Ltd's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Ovo Holdings Ltd. In the year to December 2025 OVO Group Ltd reported turnover of £5,156m.

£5,156m
Turnover, down 6.8%
£121m
Pre-tax profit
4,304
Employees
Registered name
OVO GROUP LTD
Company number
10722770
Status
Active
Incorporated
12 April 2017
Registered office area
Bristol
Industry code on the register
47990: Retail trade
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 19 August 2026

What does OVO Energy do?

OVO Energy is a gas and electricity supplier for homes in Great Britain. It earns money from energy bills and also sells boiler cover and electric vehicle charging plans. Customers manage their accounts through the OVO app, which shows their balance and energy use. The company was founded in Bristol in 2009 and is privately owned, with OVO Group Ltd as its parent company.

In brief: energy supplier · homes in Great Britain · boiler cover and EV charging · founded Bristol 2009

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: ovoenergy.com.

Who owns OVO Energy?

OVO Group Ltd
OVO Energy · company 10722770
Ovo Holdings Ltd
Company

The Companies House register records Ovo Holdings Ltd as the person with significant control of OVO Group Ltd, company number 10722770. Ovo Holdings Ltd is itself company number 10722665.

That places OVO Group Ltd inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs OVO Energy?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for OVO Group Ltd.

All 8 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Vincent Francis Casey12 April 2017
Jonson Cox5 August 2020
Christopher Paul Houghton21 November 2025
Dame Jayne-Anne Gadhia18 February 2026
Kunal Dasgupta18 February 2026
Daniel William Sasaki18 February 2026
Stephen James Fitzpatrick18 February 2026
Takashi Ishibashi16 March 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did OVO Energy file?

OVO Group Ltd reported turnover of £5,156m in the year to December 2025. That was down 6.8% on £5,530m the year before.

It reported 4,304 employees. The year before it reported 5,099.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £121m for the year, against a pre-tax loss of £166m the year before.

Staff costs came to £234m. That is an average of £54,000 a head. It ended the year with £248m at the bank and net assets of £81m.

Dec 2025£92.88£2.35 profit
Dec 2024£98.03£3.00 loss
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. A loss is the part of the costs beyond £100, marked with a red bracket. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£5,156m£5,530m
Pre-tax profit£121m (filed)-£166m (filed)
Employees4,3045,099
Staff costs£234m£275m
Average staff cost per head£54,000£54,000
Bank and cash£248m£307m
Net assets£81m-£245m
Interest paid£12m
Interest received£30m
Directors' pay£3m

Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against OVO Energy?

OVO Group Ltd has registered 15 charges at Companies House, of which 7 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 7 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Glas Trust Corporation Limited16 January 2025
Glas Trust Corporation Limited (As Security Agent)5 October 2020
Glas Trust Corporation Limited17 August 2020
Glas Trust Corporation Limited (As Security Agent)11 August 2020
Glas Trust Corporation Limited (As Security Agent)11 August 2020
Glas Trust Corporation Limited (As Security Agent)30 January 2020
Glas Trust Corporation Limited (As Security Agent)22 January 2020

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

OVO Energy files as OVO Group Ltd, whose person with significant control is Ovo Holdings Ltd, with turnover of £5,156m in its latest filed year.

Questions about OVO Energy

What does OVO Energy do?

OVO Energy is a gas and electricity supplier for homes in Great Britain. It earns money from energy bills and also sells boiler cover and electric vehicle charging plans. Customers manage their accounts through the OVO app, which shows their balance and energy use. The company was founded in Bristol in 2009 and is privately owned, with OVO Group Ltd as its parent company.

Who owns OVO Energy?

The Companies House register records Ovo Holdings Ltd as the person with significant control of OVO Group Ltd.

How much does OVO Energy make?

OVO Group Ltd reported turnover of £5,156m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £121m.

How many people work at OVO Energy?

OVO Group Ltd reported 4,304 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs OVO Energy?

The Companies House register lists 8 current officers for OVO Group Ltd. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from OVO Group Ltd's filings at Companies House, company number 10722770, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “OVO Energy: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/ovo-energy/. Figures from Companies House filings for OVO GROUP LTD (10722770).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings