Octopus Energy: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Octopus Energy Group Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Octopus Energy Topco Limited. In the year to April 2025 Octopus Energy Group Limited reported turnover of £13,683m.
- Registered name
- OCTOPUS ENERGY GROUP LIMITED
- Company number
- 09718624
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 5 August 2015
- Registered office area
- West London
- Industry code on the register
- 64205: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to April 2025, filed 9 January 2026
What does Octopus Energy do?
Octopus Energy is an energy company that supplies gas and electricity to homes and businesses in Britain and other countries. It was founded in London in 2015. It makes money mainly from energy supply, and offers smart tariffs that reward customers for using power when it is cheap and green. It built its own customer and billing software, Kraken, which it also licenses to other energy suppliers. It also sells heat pumps, solar panels and EV chargers.
In brief: energy supplier · green and smart tariffs · Kraken software · Britain and abroad
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: octopus.energy.
Who owns Octopus Energy?
The Companies House register records Octopus Energy Topco Limited as the person with significant control of Octopus Energy Group Limited, company number 09718624. Octopus Energy Topco Limited is itself company number 16982052.
That places Octopus Energy Group Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Octopus Energy?
The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Octopus Energy Group Limited.
All 9 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Christopher Robert Hulatt | 5 August 2015 |
| Stuart Keith Jackson | 11 December 2015 |
| Greg Sean Jackson | 11 December 2015 |
| Simon Andrew Rogerson | 11 December 2015 |
| James Andrew Eddison | 11 April 2016 |
| Martin Charles Lawrence | 9 November 2017 |
| Thomas Bartee Hodges | 18 October 2021 |
| John Bowie | 26 March 2025 |
| Vincent Mark Hanafin | 13 May 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Octopus Energy file?
Octopus Energy Group Limited reported turnover of £13,683m in the year to April 2025. That was up 10.1% on £12,433m the year before.
It reported 10,030 employees. The year before it reported 6,438.
It filed a pre-tax loss of £260m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £78m the year before.
Staff costs came to £492m. That is an average of £49,000 a head. It ended the year with £1,512m at the bank and net assets of £1,482m.
| Measure | Apr 2025 | Apr 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £13,683m | £12,433m |
| Pre-tax profit | -£260m (filed) | £78m (filed) |
| Employees | 10,030 | 6,438 |
| Staff costs | £492m | £292m |
| Average staff cost per head | £49,000 | £45,000 |
| Bank and cash | £1,512m | £4,202m |
| Net assets | £1,482m | £1,697m |
| Interest paid | £35m | |
| Interest received | £127m | |
| Directors' pay | £0.8m |
Read the accounts to April 2025 (PDF, Companies House) · every accounts filing
Are there any charges against Octopus Energy?
Octopus Energy Group Limited has registered 21 charges at Companies House, of which 10 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 10 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Shell Energy Europe Limited | 20 April 2026 |
| Uniper Global Commodities SE | 12 December 2025 |
| Glas Sas (And Its Successors in Title and Permitted Transferees) | 13 November 2024 |
| Shell Energy Europe Limited | 9 October 2024 |
| Shell Energy Europe Limited | 1 December 2023 |
| Hsbc Bank PLC | 12 July 2023 |
| Bnp Paribas London Branch | 3 April 2023 |
| Shell Energy Europe Limited | 2 November 2022 |
| Shell Energy Europe Limited | 28 October 2021 |
| Shell Energy Europe Limited, 80 Strand, London, WC2R 0ZA, England | 9 March 2018 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
How Octopus Energy compares
Octopus Energy files as Octopus Energy Group Limited, whose person with significant control is Octopus Energy Topco Limited, with turnover of £13,683m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Octopus Energy
What does Octopus Energy do?
Octopus Energy is an energy company that supplies gas and electricity to homes and businesses in Britain and other countries. It was founded in London in 2015. It makes money mainly from energy supply, and offers smart tariffs that reward customers for using power when it is cheap and green. It built its own customer and billing software, Kraken, which it also licenses to other energy suppliers. It also sells heat pumps, solar panels and EV chargers.
Who owns Octopus Energy?
The Companies House register records Octopus Energy Topco Limited as the person with significant control of Octopus Energy Group Limited.
How much does Octopus Energy make?
Octopus Energy Group Limited reported turnover of £13,683m in the year to April 2025. It filed a pre-tax loss of £260m.
How many people work at Octopus Energy?
Octopus Energy Group Limited reported 10,030 employees in the year to April 2025.
Who runs Octopus Energy?
The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Octopus Energy Group Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Octopus Energy Group Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 09718624, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Octopus Energy: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/octopus-energy/. Figures from Companies House filings for OCTOPUS ENERGY GROUP LIMITED (09718624).
More from Spark Intel
VS Series
Octopus Energy v British Gas: who is really winning the multi-billion pound energy war?
Read →Battle
The battle of the energy suppliers: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
British Gas: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
OVO Energy: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks