Accounts to January 2026 · Group accounts · Filed September 2026

Hall & Woodhouse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Hall & Woodhouse Limited has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to January 2026 it reported turnover of £131m.

£131m
Turnover, up 6.7%
£11m
Pre-tax profit
1,663
Employees
Registered name
HALL & WOODHOUSE LIMITED
Company number
00057696
Status
Active
Incorporated
8 June 1898
Registered office area
Dorchester
Industry code on the register
11050: Manufacture of beverages
Accounts
Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
Accounts type
Full group accounts
Latest accounts
Year to January 2026, filed 8 September 2026

What does Hall & Woodhouse do?

Hall & Woodhouse is a family-owned brewer and pub company based in Dorset, founded in 1777. It runs its own pubs and places to stay, and also lets pubs to people who run them as their own business. It brews beer at its own brewery and sells the Badger range of beers, including through its online shop. The business has passed down through generations of the same family.

In brief: brewer and pub company · Badger beers · managed and tenanted pubs · family-owned since 1777

Source: Hall & Woodhouse's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Hall & Woodhouse?

Hall & Woodhouse Limited, company number 00057696, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Hall & Woodhouse?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Hall & Woodhouse Limited.

All 9 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Anthony William Woodhouse1 February 2000
Matthew Richard Kearsey30 March 2009
Timothy Clarke1 June 2010
Mark James17 May 2013
Mr. Dean James Livesey1 April 2016
Marianne Susie Jarvis26 July 2017
Paul David Barnett6 July 2020
Tatiana Woodhouse1 February 2022
David Alexander Wheeler16 May 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Hall & Woodhouse file?

Hall & Woodhouse Limited reported turnover of £131m in the year to January 2026. That was up 6.7% on £123m the year before.

It reported 1,663 employees. The year before it reported 1,750.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £11m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £6m the year before.

Staff costs came to £43m. That is an average of £26,000 a head. It ended the year with £1.1m at the bank and net assets of £143m. It paid dividends of £2m.

Jan 2026£32.96£57.70£8.17 profit
Jan 2025£32.64£62.08£5.27 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureJan 2026Jan 2025
Turnover£131m£123m
Pre-tax profit£11m (filed)£6m (filed)
Employees1,6631,750
Staff costs£43m£40m
Average staff cost per head£26,000£23,000
Bank and cash£1.1m£4m
Net assets£143m£136m
Dividends paid£2m£2m
Interest paid£1.5m
Interest received£0.1m
Directors' pay£2m

Read the accounts to January 2026 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Hall & Woodhouse?

Hall & Woodhouse Limited has registered 26 charges at Companies House, of which 18 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 18 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Barclays Bank PLC (As Security Agent)3 February 2026
Kelford Cafes Limited11 March 2022
Barclays Bank PLC23 December 2021
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Agent24 February 2021
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Agent18 January 2021
Barclays Bank PLC (As Security Agent)27 November 2020
Secretary of State for Defence8 October 2020
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Agent3 June 2020
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Agent24 January 2020
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Agent1 February 2018
Barclays Bank PLC as Security Agent22 June 2017
Barclays Bank PLC4 January 2014
Barclays Bank PLC (The Security Agent) as Agent and Trustee for the Secured Parties17 March 2011
Shelagh Thomas, Mark John Michael Woddhouse, John Graham George Williams, Anthony William Woodhouse, David John French and Richard William John Payne as Trustees of the Hall & Woodhouse Limited and Subsidiary Companies Retirement Benefits Plan17 March 2010
Shelagh Thomas as Trustee of the Scheme Mark John Michael Woodhouse as Trustee of the Scheme John Graham George Williams as Trustee of the Scheme David John French as Trustee of the Scheme Richard William John Payne as Trustee of the Scheme17 March 2010
Shelagh Thomas,Mark John Michael Woodhouse,John Graham George Williams,Anthony Williamwoodhouse,David John French and Richard Williamjohn Payne as Trustees of the Scheme23 March 2007
Shelagh Thomas, Mark John Michael Woodhouse, John Graham George Williams, Anthony Williamwoodhouse, David John French and Robert Neil Edm, Shelagh Thomas, Mark John Michael Woodhouse, John Graham George Williams, Anthony Williamonds as Trustees of the Scheme1 April 2006
The National Trust for Places of Historic Interest or Natural Beauty27 June 2001

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

Hall & Woodhouse files as Hall & Woodhouse Limited, with turnover of £131m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Hall & Woodhouse

What does Hall & Woodhouse do?

Hall & Woodhouse is a family-owned brewer and pub company based in Dorset, founded in 1777. It runs its own pubs and places to stay, and also lets pubs to people who run them as their own business. It brews beer at its own brewery and sells the Badger range of beers, including through its online shop. The business has passed down through generations of the same family.

Who owns Hall & Woodhouse?

Hall & Woodhouse Limited has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.

How much does Hall & Woodhouse make?

Hall & Woodhouse Limited reported turnover of £131m in the year to January 2026. It filed a pre-tax profit of £11m.

How many people work at Hall & Woodhouse?

Hall & Woodhouse Limited reported 1,663 employees in the year to January 2026.

Who runs Hall & Woodhouse?

The Companies House register lists 9 current officers for Hall & Woodhouse Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Hall & Woodhouse Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 00057696, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Hall & Woodhouse: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/hall-woodhouse/. Figures from Companies House filings for HALL & WOODHOUSE LIMITED (00057696).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings