Accounts to March 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed November 2025

GWR: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

First Greater Western Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is First Rail Holdings Limited. In the year to March 2025 First Greater Western Limited reported turnover of £1,665m.

£1,665m
Turnover, up 14.6%
£32m
Pre-tax profit
6,362
Employees
Registered name
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED
Company number
05113733
Status
Active
Incorporated
27 April 2004
Registered office area
Swindon
Industry code on the register
49100: Land transport and transport via pipelines
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2025, filed 21 November 2025

What does GWR do?

GWR, trading name of First Greater Western, runs passenger rail services from London Paddington to the Thames Valley, the Cotswolds, south Wales, the West Country and Cornwall. It earns money from ticket sales, with its services specified and funded under arrangements with the Department for Transport. Its network ranges from high-speed intercity trains to local and branch-line services, plus the overnight Night Riviera sleeper to Penzance.

In brief: train operator · intercity and local services · fares and government contract · London to the West and Wales

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: gwr.com.

Who owns GWR?

First Greater Western Limited
GWR · company 05113733
First Rail Holdings Limited
Company

The Companies House register records First Rail Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of First Greater Western Limited, company number 05113733. First Rail Holdings Limited is itself company number 05154485.

That places First Greater Western Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs GWR?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for First Greater Western Limited.

All 6 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Clive Burrows24 September 2007
Mark Julian Hopwood21 January 2008
Duncan Thomas Rimmer17 June 2019
Michael John Nelson1 June 2020
Richard Bruce Rowland26 January 2022
Dr Benjamin John Caswell3 May 2026

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did GWR file?

First Greater Western Limited reported turnover of £1,665m in the year to March 2025. That was up 14.6% on £1,453m the year before.

It reported 6,362 employees. The year before it reported 6,471.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £32m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £26m the year before.

Staff costs came to £432m. That is an average of £68,000 a head. It ended the year with £164m at the bank and net assets of £25m. It paid dividends of £21m.

Mar 2025£25.97£72.11£1.92 profit
Mar 2024£27.59£70.61£1.80 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Mar 2024
Turnover£1,665m£1,453m
Pre-tax profit£32m (filed)£26m (filed)
Employees6,3626,471
Staff costs£432m£401m
Average staff cost per head£68,000£62,000
Bank and cash£164m£132m
Net assets£25m£22m
Dividends paid£21m£24m
Directors' pay£0.7m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against GWR?

First Greater Western Limited has registered 7 charges at Companies House, and all of them have since been satisfied. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

GWR files as First Greater Western Limited, whose person with significant control is First Rail Holdings Limited, with turnover of £1,665m in its latest filed year.

Questions about GWR

What does GWR do?

GWR, trading name of First Greater Western, runs passenger rail services from London Paddington to the Thames Valley, the Cotswolds, south Wales, the West Country and Cornwall. It earns money from ticket sales, with its services specified and funded under arrangements with the Department for Transport. Its network ranges from high-speed intercity trains to local and branch-line services, plus the overnight Night Riviera sleeper to Penzance.

Who owns GWR?

The Companies House register records First Rail Holdings Limited as the person with significant control of First Greater Western Limited.

How much does GWR make?

First Greater Western Limited reported turnover of £1,665m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £32m.

How many people work at GWR?

First Greater Western Limited reported 6,362 employees in the year to March 2025.

Who runs GWR?

The Companies House register lists 6 current officers for First Greater Western Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from First Greater Western Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 05113733, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “GWR: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/gwr/. Figures from Companies House filings for FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED (05113733).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings