Edinburgh Airport: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
Edinburgh Airport Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Green Bidco Limited. In the year to December 2025 Edinburgh Airport Limited reported turnover of £359m.
- Registered name
- EDINBURGH AIRPORT LIMITED
- Company number
- SC096623
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 6 January 1986
- Registered office area
- Edinburgh
- Industry code on the register
- 52230: Warehousing and support activities for transportation
- Accounts
- Group accounts, covering the companies it owns
- Accounts type
- Full group accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2025, filed 22 June 2026
What does Edinburgh Airport do?
Edinburgh Airport is an international airport at Ingliston, west of Edinburgh, serving flights across the UK, Europe and further afield. It earns money from charges paid by airlines for each passenger and flight, and from shops, restaurants, car parking and property on the site. Its routes are flown by a mix of low-cost, holiday and full-service airlines. The airport is majority owned by VINCI Airports.
In brief: Scottish airport · airline charges · retail and parking · majority owned by VINCI
Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: edinburghairport.com.
Who owns Edinburgh Airport?
The Companies House register records Green Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Edinburgh Airport Limited, company number SC096623. Green Bidco Limited is itself company number 08008481.
That places Edinburgh Airport Limited inside a larger group. Its accounts are group accounts, covering the companies it owns as well.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs Edinburgh Airport?
The Companies House register lists 15 current officers for Edinburgh Airport Limited.
All 15 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| Sir John William Elvidge | 31 May 2012 |
| Michael John McGhee | 31 May 2012 |
| Gordon William Dewar | 26 July 2012 |
| Stephen Andrew Swan | 29 January 2015 |
| Andreea Luana Badiu | 21 November 2019 |
| Lucy Chadwick | 25 June 2024 |
| Olivier Mathieu | 25 June 2024 |
| Remi Guy Ferdinand Maumon De Longevialle | 25 June 2024 |
| Nicolas Dominique Notebaert | 25 June 2024 |
| Stewart Wingate | 1 September 2025 |
| Jérôme Mickaël Christophe Havard | 1 September 2025 |
| Benoît Forest | 1 September 2025 |
| Álvaro Alexandre Vasconcelos De Oliveira Fernandes Leite | 1 September 2025 |
| Thomas David Picot | 26 November 2025 |
| Dr Bridget Mary McConnell | 1 September 2026 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did Edinburgh Airport file?
Edinburgh Airport Limited reported turnover of £359m in the year to December 2025. That was up 14.1% on £315m the year before.
It reported 958 employees. The year before it reported 880.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £178m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £195m the year before.
Staff costs came to £60m. That is an average of £63,000 a head. It ended the year with £30m at the bank and net assets of £143m. It paid dividends of £130m.
| Measure | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £359m | £315m |
| Pre-tax profit | £178m (filed) | £195m (filed) |
| Employees | 958 | 880 |
| Staff costs | £60m | £52m |
| Average staff cost per head | £63,000 | £59,000 |
| Bank and cash | £30m | £28m |
| Net assets | £143m | £150m |
| Dividends paid | £130m | £85m |
| Interest paid | £68m | |
| Interest received | £30m | |
| Directors' pay | £4m |
Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
Are there any charges against Edinburgh Airport?
Edinburgh Airport Limited has registered 15 charges at Companies House, of which 5 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.
All 5 outstanding charges
| Charge holder | Created |
|---|---|
| Natwest Markets PLC as Security Agent | 18 June 2025 |
| Natwest Markets PLC as Security Agent | 18 June 2025 |
| Natwest Markets PLC as Security Agent | 18 June 2025 |
| Natwest Markets PLC (As Security Trustee for Itself and the Other Secured Creditors) | 12 June 2025 |
| The Royal Bank of Scotland PLC | 13 June 2012 |
Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.
Edinburgh Airport files as Edinburgh Airport Limited, whose person with significant control is Green Bidco Limited, with turnover of £359m in its latest filed year.
Questions about Edinburgh Airport
What does Edinburgh Airport do?
Edinburgh Airport is an international airport at Ingliston, west of Edinburgh, serving flights across the UK, Europe and further afield. It earns money from charges paid by airlines for each passenger and flight, and from shops, restaurants, car parking and property on the site. Its routes are flown by a mix of low-cost, holiday and full-service airlines. The airport is majority owned by VINCI Airports.
Who owns Edinburgh Airport?
The Companies House register records Green Bidco Limited as the person with significant control of Edinburgh Airport Limited.
How much does Edinburgh Airport make?
Edinburgh Airport Limited reported turnover of £359m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £178m.
How many people work at Edinburgh Airport?
Edinburgh Airport Limited reported 958 employees in the year to December 2025.
Who runs Edinburgh Airport?
The Companies House register lists 15 current officers for Edinburgh Airport Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from Edinburgh Airport Limited's filings at Companies House, company number SC096623, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are group accounts: they include the companies it owns.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “Edinburgh Airport: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/edinburgh-airport/. Figures from Companies House filings for EDINBURGH AIRPORT LIMITED (SC096623).
More from Spark Intel
Battle
The battle of the UK airports: turnover, profit and staff compared
Read →Company profile
Heathrow: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
GWR: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profile
Manchester Airports Group: who owns it and what the accounts show
Read →Company profiles
Every company profile, by sector
Read →VS Series
Every VS comparison: two businesses, settled with accounts
Read →Bright Sparks