Accounts to December 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed April 2026

Heathrow: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Heathrow Airport Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Heathrow (Ah) Limited. In the year to December 2025 Heathrow Airport Limited reported turnover of £3,547m.

£3,547m
Turnover, up 1.9%
£1,118m
Pre-tax profit
7,789
Employees
Registered name
HEATHROW AIRPORT LIMITED
Company number
01991017
Status
Active
Incorporated
19 February 1986
Registered office area
Twickenham
Industry code on the register
51101: Air transport
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to December 2025, filed 10 April 2026

What does Heathrow do?

Heathrow is London's main hub airport, handling passenger flights and air cargo for airlines serving destinations around the world. It makes money from airport charges paid by airlines, which are regulated by the Civil Aviation Authority, and from retail, food and drink concessions, car parking and property. As a hub, many passengers change flights there rather than starting or ending their journey in London. The airport is privately owned by a group of international investors.

In brief: hub airport · regulated airport charges · retail and car parking · privately owned

Source: Spark Intel editorial, checked 24 September 2026. Official website: heathrow.com.

Who owns Heathrow?

Heathrow Airport Limited
Heathrow · company 01991017
Heathrow (Ah) Limited
Company

The Companies House register records Heathrow (Ah) Limited as the person with significant control of Heathrow Airport Limited, company number 01991017. Heathrow (Ah) Limited is itself company number 06458657.

That places Heathrow Airport Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Heathrow?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Heathrow Airport Limited.

All 7 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Javier Echave Espot24 November 2016
Ross Findlay Scott Baker1 January 2017
Helen Mary Elsby1 September 2021
Nigel Anthony Milton1 September 2021
Thomas Woldbye18 October 2023
Yuanyuan Ding17 October 2024
Joanne Catherine Butler20 January 2025

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Heathrow file?

Heathrow Airport Limited reported turnover of £3,547m in the year to December 2025. That was up 1.9% on £3,482m the year before.

It reported 7,789 employees. The year before it reported 7,968.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £1,118m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £1,379m the year before.

Staff costs came to £465m. That is an average of £60,000 a head. It ended the year with £298m at the bank and net assets of £2,473m.

Dec 2025£27.97£27.40£31.52£31.52 profit
Dec 2024£46.78£39.60£39.60 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureDec 2025Dec 2024
Turnover£3,547m£3,482m
Pre-tax profit£1,118m (filed)£1,379m (filed)
Employees7,7897,968
Staff costs£465m£474m
Average staff cost per head£60,000£59,000
Bank and cash£298m£1,131m
Net assets£2,473m£2,137m
Interest paid£992m
Interest received£776m
Directors' pay£8m

Read the accounts to December 2025 (PDF, Companies House) · every accounts filing

Are there any charges against Heathrow?

Heathrow Airport Limited has registered 45 charges at Companies House, of which 45 are still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

All 45 outstanding charges
Charge holderCreated
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited29 June 2026
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited1 April 2026
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited18 December 2025
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited as Trustee for the Borrower Secured Creditors29 October 2025
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited11 June 2025
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited4 June 2025
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited28 February 2025
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited20 December 2024
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited2 December 2024
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited19 November 2024
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited9 February 2024
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited6 February 2024
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited22 December 2023
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited11 September 2023
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited as Security Trustee8 August 2023
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited4 August 2023
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited2 August 2023
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited2 August 2023
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited14 June 2023
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited8 June 2023
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited9 December 2022
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited4 November 2022
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited as Trustee for Borrower Secured Creditors20 July 2022
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited22 June 2022
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited1 April 2022
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited25 March 2022
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited25 March 2022
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited25 March 2022
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited23 December 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited10 December 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited12 September 2021
Deutsche Trustee Company Limited7 July 2021

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Heathrow compares

Heathrow files as Heathrow Airport Limited, whose person with significant control is Heathrow (Ah) Limited, with turnover of £3,547m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Heathrow

What does Heathrow do?

Heathrow is London's main hub airport, handling passenger flights and air cargo for airlines serving destinations around the world. It makes money from airport charges paid by airlines, which are regulated by the Civil Aviation Authority, and from retail, food and drink concessions, car parking and property. As a hub, many passengers change flights there rather than starting or ending their journey in London. The airport is privately owned by a group of international investors.

Who owns Heathrow?

The Companies House register records Heathrow (Ah) Limited as the person with significant control of Heathrow Airport Limited.

How much does Heathrow make?

Heathrow Airport Limited reported turnover of £3,547m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £1,118m.

How many people work at Heathrow?

Heathrow Airport Limited reported 7,789 employees in the year to December 2025.

Who runs Heathrow?

The Companies House register lists 7 current officers for Heathrow Airport Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Heathrow Airport Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 01991017, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Heathrow: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/heathrow/. Figures from Companies House filings for HEATHROW AIRPORT LIMITED (01991017).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings