Battle · 17 institutions
National museums and galleries
Free to enter, not free to run. Who pays the bills?
Natural History Museum leads on 3 of the five measures that matter most: income, surplus, surplus margin, growth and net assets. Tate is the biggest by income at £195m, against £187m at Natural History Museum. Natural History Museum keeps the most of every £100 it takes, £30.99 as surplus.
The year ends are up to 12 months apart, so this compares each institution's most recent filing rather than the same twelve months.
Accounts compared: British Museum to Mar 2026 · Natural History Museum to Mar 2026 · Science Museum Group to Mar 2026 · V&A to Mar 2026 · Tate to Mar 2026 · National Gallery to Mar 2026 · National Portrait Gallery to Mar 2026 · Royal Museums Greenwich to Mar 2026 · Imperial War Museums to Mar 2026 · National Museums Liverpool to Mar 2025 · Royal Armouries to Mar 2025 · Wallace Collection to Mar 2025 · Sir John Soane's Museum to Mar 2025 · National Museums Scotland to Mar 2025 · National Galleries of Scotland to Mar 2025 · Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales to Mar 2025 · National Museums NI to Mar 2025
Who pays the bills?
How much of each museum's income comes from the government?
National Museums Scotland relies most on government grant-in-aid, at 76% of its income. Sir John Soane's Museum relies least, at 30%: the rest of its money comes from admissions, shops, catering, donations and other income it earns and raises itself.
Government grant-in-aid Earned and raised income. From each institution's latest published annual report and accounts.
The Numbers
| # | Institution | Income | Change | Surplus | Margin | Employees | Pay per head | Income per head | Net assets | Bank and cash | Accounts to | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | TateTate | £195m | +16.6% | £42m | 21.5% | 1,244 | £50,000 | £157,000 | £2,035m | £19m | Mar 2026 | n/d |
| 2 | Natural History MuseumNatural History Museum | £187m | +19.8% | £58m | 31.0% | 1,029 | £58,000 | £182,000 | £807m | £47m | Mar 2026 | n/d |
| 3 | British MuseumBritish Museum | £150m | n/d | £23m | 15.4% | 1,183 | £51,000 | £127,000 | £2,448m | £40m | Mar 2026 | n/d |
| 4 | V&AVictoria and Albert Museum | £142m | -3.5% | £5m | 3.7% | 1,164 | £49,000 | £122,000 | £879m | £6m | Mar 2026 | n/d |
| 5 | Science Museum GroupScience Museum Group | £115m | -4.0% | -£19m | -16.7% | 1,050 | £42,000 | £110,000 | £659m | £17m | Mar 2026 | n/d |
| 6 | National GalleryNational Gallery | £92m | -12.0% | £14m | 15.5% | 555 | £55,000 | £165,000 | £828m | £14m | Mar 2026 | n/d |
| 7 | Imperial War MuseumsImperial War Museums | £79m | -8.3% | -£1.2m | -1.5% | 586 | £54,000 | £135,000 | £292m | £28m | Mar 2026 | n/d |
| 8 | Royal Museums GreenwichRoyal Museums Greenwich (National Maritime Museum) | £55m | +13.0% | £15m | 26.9% | 516 | £42,000 | £107,000 | £347m | £9m | Mar 2026 | n/d |
| 9 | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum WalesAmgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales (National Museum of Wales) | £49m | -2.1% | £4m | 9.0% | 533 | £42,000 | £91,000 | £178m | £12m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
| 10 | National Museums ScotlandNational Museums Scotland | £40m | -0.0% | -£3m | -8.5% | 493 | £47,000 | £80,000 | £196m | £3m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
| 11 | National Museums LiverpoolNational Museums Liverpool (National Museums and Galleries on Merseyside) | £37m | -13.5% | -£3m | -6.9% | 460 | £46,000 | £81,000 | £320m | £6m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
| 12 | National Galleries of ScotlandNational Galleries of Scotland | £33m | +1.2% | £1.4m | 4.2% | 362 | £51,000 | £90,000 | £372m | £5m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
| 13 | National Portrait GalleryNational Portrait Gallery | £32m | -1.0% | £1.6m | 4.8% | 246 | £59,000 | £132,000 | £183m | £8m | Mar 2026 | n/d |
| 14 | National Museums NINational Museums NI | £26m | +6.5% | -£2m | -8.1% | 286 | £49,000 | £89,000 | £104m | £2m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
| 15 | Royal ArmouriesRoyal Armouries | £14m | +1.4% | -£2m | -17.6% | 181 | £44,000 | £79,000 | £83m | £6m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
| 16 | Wallace CollectionThe Wallace Collection | £8m | -9.5% | -£1.2m | -14.5% | 93 | £51,000 | £89,000 | £65m | £4m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
| 17 | Sir John Soane's MuseumSir John Soane's Museum | £4m | +5.1% | £0.3m | 6.2% | 50 | £48,000 | £84,000 | £13m | £1.3m | Mar 2025 | n/d |
Ranked by income. Click any column to sort. The leader on each measure is highlighted. Movements are against each institution's own prior year. Surplus is filed except where marked (est.).
Category winners
Biggest by income
Tate
£195m
Most surplus
Natural History Museum
£58m
Highest surplus margin
Natural History Museum
31.0%
Fastest-growing income
Natural History Museum
+19.8%
Biggest employer
Tate
1,244 staff
Highest pay per head
National Portrait Gallery
£59,000
Most income per head
Natural History Museum
£182,000
Largest net assets
British Museum
£2,448m
Most cash
Natural History Museum
£47m
The Takeaway
- Natural History Museum converts the most of its income. Of every £100, £30.99 reaches surplus, against a loss of £17.57 at Royal Armouries.
- Tate is the largest on the top line, £195m of income, 1.0x Natural History Museum's £187m.
- Natural History Museum is growing fastest, income +19.8% on its own prior year. Science Museum Group, V&A, National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, Imperial War Museums, National Museums Liverpool, Wallace Collection, National Museums Scotland and Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales went backwards.
- Tate is the biggest employer with 1,244 people; National Portrait Gallery pays the most per head, an average staff cost of about £59,000.
- British Museum has the largest balance sheet, net assets of £2,448m, while Natural History Museum holds the most cash at £47m.
Who keeps the most of every £100 of sales?
Natural History Museum keeps the most: £30.99 of every £100 of income becomes surplus. Royal Armouries does worst, losing £17.57.
Every profit figure here is the one the institution filed.
The chart splits each institution's income into £100: what goes on people, on interest and on everything else, and what is left as profit.
Out of every £100 of income
Each bar is £100 of that institution's own income, so institutions of any size compare on one scale; the figures are pounds out of each £100, not millions. Institutions run from the best margin to the worst. Payroll is staff costs, other running costs are everything else, and profit is surplus, filed or estimated as marked in the table. A loss is not an extra cost: it is the part of the costs that runs past the £100 line, marked with a red bracket. Hover over any segment for its figure.
Who is the biggest, and does the comparison hold?
By income the order is Tate (£195m), Natural History Museum (£187m), British Museum (£150m), V&A (£142m), Science Museum Group (£115m), National Gallery (£92m), Imperial War Museums (£79m), Royal Museums Greenwich (£55m), Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales (£49m), National Museums Scotland (£40m), National Museums Liverpool (£37m), National Galleries of Scotland (£33m), National Portrait Gallery (£32m), National Museums NI (£26m), Royal Armouries (£14m), Wallace Collection (£8m), Sir John Soane's Museum (£4m).
By headcount, Tate leads with 1,244 employees.
The comparison holds with the dates stated plainly: British Museum to Mar 2026, Natural History Museum to Mar 2026, Science Museum Group to Mar 2026, V&A to Mar 2026, Tate to Mar 2026, National Gallery to Mar 2026, National Portrait Gallery to Mar 2026, Royal Museums Greenwich to Mar 2026, Imperial War Museums to Mar 2026, National Museums Liverpool to Mar 2025, Royal Armouries to Mar 2025, Wallace Collection to Mar 2025, Sir John Soane's Museum to Mar 2025, National Museums Scotland to Mar 2025, National Galleries of Scotland to Mar 2025, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales to Mar 2025, National Museums NI to Mar 2025. All are on the same filing basis.
Income on the latest filing
Who is growing fastest?
Natural History Museum grew fastest, income +19.8% on its own prior year, ahead of Tate (+16.6%), Royal Museums Greenwich (+13.0%), National Museums NI (+6.5%), Sir John Soane's Museum (+5.1%), Royal Armouries (+1.4%), National Galleries of Scotland (+1.2%), National Museums Scotland (-0.0%), National Portrait Gallery (-1.0%), Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales (-2.1%), V&A (-3.5%), Science Museum Group (-4.0%), Imperial War Museums (-8.3%), Wallace Collection (-9.5%), National Gallery (-12.0%), National Museums Liverpool (-13.5%).
Income change on each institution's own prior year
Who employs the most, who pays the most, and who brings in the most per head?
Tate employs the most, 1,244 people, against 1,183 at British Museum.
National Portrait Gallery has the highest average staff cost, about £59,000 a head; Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales the lowest, about £42,000.
Natural History Museum brings in the most income per employee, about £182,000, against £79,000 at Royal Armouries. It says as much about the business model as the workforce: a marketplace or a wholesaler needs far fewer people per pound than a restaurant or a gym.
British Museum
1,183
employees, about £51,000 pay a head, £127,000 income a head
Natural History Museum
1,029
employees, about £58,000 pay a head, £182,000 income a head
Science Museum Group
1,050
employees, about £42,000 pay a head, £110,000 income a head
V&A
1,164
employees, about £49,000 pay a head, £122,000 income a head
Tate
1,244
employees, about £50,000 pay a head, £157,000 income a head
National Gallery
555
employees, about £55,000 pay a head, £165,000 income a head
National Portrait Gallery
246
employees, about £59,000 pay a head, £132,000 income a head
Royal Museums Greenwich
516
employees, about £42,000 pay a head, £107,000 income a head
Imperial War Museums
586
employees, about £54,000 pay a head, £135,000 income a head
National Museums Liverpool
460
employees, about £46,000 pay a head, £81,000 income a head
Royal Armouries
181
employees, about £44,000 pay a head, £79,000 income a head
Wallace Collection
93
employees, about £51,000 pay a head, £89,000 income a head
Sir John Soane's Museum
50
employees, about £48,000 pay a head, £84,000 income a head
National Museums Scotland
493
employees, about £47,000 pay a head, £80,000 income a head
National Galleries of Scotland
362
employees, about £51,000 pay a head, £90,000 income a head
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales
533
employees, about £42,000 pay a head, £91,000 income a head
National Museums NI
286
employees, about £49,000 pay a head, £89,000 income a head
Who owns each one?
Ownership as recorded on the published annual reports register of people with significant control, in the bands the register uses.
A public body and charity
Exempt charity (Schedule 3, Charities Act 2011) and executive non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS, governed by the British Museum Act 1963. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
Natural History Museum · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity (Part 3, Charities Act 2011) and non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS, established under the British Museum Act 1963. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
Science Museum Group · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity (Schedule 3, Charities Act 2011) and non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS; the Board of Trustees of the Science Museum, established under the National Heritage Act 1983. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
V&A · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity (Charities Act 2011) and non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS; Board of Trustees established by the National Heritage Act 1983. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
Tate · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity (Schedule 3, Charities Act 2011) and executive non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS (the Board of Trustees of the Tate Gallery). It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
National Gallery · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity and non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
National Portrait Gallery · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity and non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
Royal Museums Greenwich · annual reportA public body and charity
Statutory corporation (National Maritime Museum Act 1934), exempt charity and executive non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
Imperial War Museums · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity and non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
National Museums Liverpool · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity (Schedule 3, Charities Act 2011) and non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
Royal Armouries · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity and non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS (National Heritage Act 1983). It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
Wallace Collection · annual reportA public body and charity
Exempt charity and non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS (Declaration of Trust 1899 and Museums and Galleries Act 1992). It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
Sir John Soane's Museum · annual reportA public body and charity
Registered charity (No. 313609) and executive non-departmental public body sponsored by DCMS. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
National Museums Scotland · annual reportA public body and charity
Scottish charity (SC011130) and non-departmental public body sponsored by the Scottish Government (National Heritage (Scotland) Act 1985). It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
National Galleries of Scotland · annual reportA public body and charity
Scottish charity (SC003728) and non-departmental public body funded by the Scottish Government. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales · annual reportA Royal Charter charity
Royal Charter body (RC000369) and independent registered charity (525774); Welsh Government Sponsored Body funded by grant-in-aid. It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
National Museums NI · annual reportA public body and charity
Non-departmental public body of the Department for Communities (Museums and Galleries (Northern Ireland) Order 1998) and registered charity NIC103729 (National Museums and Galleries of Northern Ireland). It has no shareholders and publishes its accounts in an annual report, not at published annual reports.
What does the full ledger show?
| Measure | British Museum | Natural History Museum | Science Museum Group | V&A | Tate | National Gallery | National Portrait Gallery | Royal Museums Greenwich | Imperial War Museums | National Museums Liverpool | Royal Armouries | Wallace Collection | Sir John Soane's Museum | National Museums Scotland | National Galleries of Scotland | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales | National Museums NI |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered name | British Museum | Natural History Museum | Science Museum Group | Victoria and Albert Museum | Tate | National Gallery | National Portrait Gallery | Royal Museums Greenwich (National Maritime Museum) | Imperial War Museums | National Museums Liverpool (National Museums and Galleries on Merseyside) | Royal Armouries | The Wallace Collection | Sir John Soane's Museum | National Museums Scotland | National Galleries of Scotland | Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales (National Museum of Wales) | National Museums NI |
| Institution number | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report | Not a institution: annual report |
| Incorporated | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
| Accounts filed | 14 July 2026 | 14 July 2026 | 15 July 2026 | 15 July 2026 | 15 July 2026 | 15 July 2026 | 15 July 2026 | 14 July 2026 | 15 July 2026 | 11 June 2026 | 18 December 2025 | 9 April 2026 | 17 December 2025 | 24 September 2025 | 3 September 2025 | 9 January 2026 | 15 October 2025 |
| Income, prior year | n/d | £156m | £120m | £147m | £167m | £104m | £33m | £49m | £86m | £43m | £14m | £9m | £4m | £40m | £32m | £50m | £24m |
| Surplus, prior year | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
| Staff costs | £61m | £60m | £44m | £58m | £63m | £31m | £15m | £22m | £31m | £21m | £8m | £5m | £2m | £23m | £19m | £22m | £14m |
| Payroll share of income | 40.6% | 32.0% | 38.2% | 40.5% | 32.1% | 33.6% | 44.8% | 39.6% | 39.8% | 57.1% | 55.9% | 57.0% | 56.8% | 58.3% | 56.7% | 45.9% | 55.4% |
| Employees, prior year | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
| Dividends paid | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d | n/d |
| Charges outstanding | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined | undefined |
A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d; a zero in a filing is treated as not disclosed. Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, above that to the nearest million.
National museums and galleries: common questions
Who is the biggest of British Museum, Natural History Museum, Science Museum Group, V&A, Tate, National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, Royal Museums Greenwich, Imperial War Museums, National Museums Liverpool, Royal Armouries, Wallace Collection, Sir John Soane's Museum, National Museums Scotland, National Galleries of Scotland, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales or National Museums NI?
Tate, with income of £195m in the year to March 2026.
Which makes the most profit?
Natural History Museum: £58m surplus in the year to March 2026.
Which employs the most people?
Tate, with 1,244 employees in its latest accounts.
British Museum or Natural History Museum: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £150m at British Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or Science Museum Group: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £115m at Science Museum Group on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or V&A: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £142m at V&A on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or Tate: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £150m at British Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or National Gallery: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £92m at National Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or National Portrait Gallery: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or Royal Museums Greenwich: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £55m at Royal Museums Greenwich on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or Imperial War Museums: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £79m at Imperial War Museums on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or National Museums Liverpool: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £40m at National Museums Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £49m at Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
British Museum or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
British Museum, with income of £150m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, British Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or Science Museum Group: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £115m at Science Museum Group on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or V&A: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £142m at V&A on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or Tate: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £187m at Natural History Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or National Gallery: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £92m at National Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or National Portrait Gallery: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or Royal Museums Greenwich: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £55m at Royal Museums Greenwich on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or Imperial War Museums: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £79m at Imperial War Museums on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or National Museums Liverpool: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £40m at National Museums Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £49m at Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Natural History Museum or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
Natural History Museum, with income of £187m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, Natural History Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or V&A: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £115m at Science Museum Group on their latest filings. On margin, V&A keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or Tate: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £115m at Science Museum Group on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or National Gallery: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £92m at National Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or National Portrait Gallery: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Portrait Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or Royal Museums Greenwich: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £55m at Royal Museums Greenwich on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or Imperial War Museums: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £79m at Imperial War Museums on their latest filings. On margin, Imperial War Museums keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or National Museums Liverpool: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums Liverpool keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, Science Museum Group keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, Wallace Collection keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £40m at National Museums Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, National Galleries of Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £49m at Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Science Museum Group or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
Science Museum Group, with income of £115m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums NI keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or Tate: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £142m at V&A on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or National Gallery: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £92m at National Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or National Portrait Gallery: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Portrait Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or Royal Museums Greenwich: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £55m at Royal Museums Greenwich on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or Imperial War Museums: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £79m at Imperial War Museums on their latest filings. On margin, V&A keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or National Museums Liverpool: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, V&A keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, V&A keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, V&A keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £40m at National Museums Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, V&A keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, National Galleries of Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £49m at Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
V&A or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
V&A, with income of £142m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, V&A keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or National Gallery: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £92m at National Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or National Portrait Gallery: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or Royal Museums Greenwich: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £55m at Royal Museums Greenwich on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or Imperial War Museums: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £79m at Imperial War Museums on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or National Museums Liverpool: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £40m at National Museums Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £49m at Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Tate or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
Tate, with income of £195m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, Tate keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or National Portrait Gallery: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or Royal Museums Greenwich: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £55m at Royal Museums Greenwich on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or Imperial War Museums: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £79m at Imperial War Museums on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or National Museums Liverpool: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £40m at National Museums Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £49m at Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Gallery or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
National Gallery, with income of £92m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, National Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or Royal Museums Greenwich: which is bigger?
Royal Museums Greenwich, with income of £55m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or Imperial War Museums: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Portrait Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or National Museums Liverpool: which is bigger?
National Museums Liverpool, with income of £37m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Portrait Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
National Portrait Gallery, with income of £32m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, National Portrait Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
National Portrait Gallery, with income of £32m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, National Portrait Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
National Portrait Gallery, with income of £32m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
National Museums Scotland, with income of £40m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Portrait Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
National Galleries of Scotland, with income of £33m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, National Portrait Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales, with income of £49m against £32m at National Portrait Gallery on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Portrait Gallery or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
National Portrait Gallery, with income of £32m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, National Portrait Gallery keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Museums Greenwich or Imperial War Museums: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £55m at Royal Museums Greenwich on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Museums Greenwich or National Museums Liverpool: which is bigger?
Royal Museums Greenwich, with income of £55m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Museums Greenwich or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
Royal Museums Greenwich, with income of £55m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Museums Greenwich or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
Royal Museums Greenwich, with income of £55m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Museums Greenwich or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
Royal Museums Greenwich, with income of £55m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Museums Greenwich or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
Royal Museums Greenwich, with income of £55m against £40m at National Museums Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Museums Greenwich or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
Royal Museums Greenwich, with income of £55m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Museums Greenwich or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Royal Museums Greenwich, with income of £55m against £49m at Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Museums Greenwich or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
Royal Museums Greenwich, with income of £55m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, Royal Museums Greenwich keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Imperial War Museums or National Museums Liverpool: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, Imperial War Museums keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Imperial War Museums or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, Imperial War Museums keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Imperial War Museums or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, Imperial War Museums keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Imperial War Museums or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Imperial War Museums or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £40m at National Museums Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, Imperial War Museums keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Imperial War Museums or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, National Galleries of Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Imperial War Museums or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £49m at Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Imperial War Museums or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
Imperial War Museums, with income of £79m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, Imperial War Museums keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Liverpool or Royal Armouries: which is bigger?
National Museums Liverpool, with income of £37m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums Liverpool keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Liverpool or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
National Museums Liverpool, with income of £37m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums Liverpool keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Liverpool or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
National Museums Liverpool, with income of £37m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Liverpool or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
National Museums Scotland, with income of £40m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums Liverpool keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Liverpool or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
National Museums Liverpool, with income of £37m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, National Galleries of Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Liverpool or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales, with income of £49m against £37m at National Museums Liverpool on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Liverpool or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
National Museums Liverpool, with income of £37m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums Liverpool keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Armouries or Wallace Collection: which is bigger?
Royal Armouries, with income of £14m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, Wallace Collection keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Armouries or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
Royal Armouries, with income of £14m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Armouries or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
National Museums Scotland, with income of £40m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Armouries or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
National Galleries of Scotland, with income of £33m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, National Galleries of Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Armouries or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales, with income of £49m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Royal Armouries or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
National Museums NI, with income of £26m against £14m at Royal Armouries on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums NI keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Wallace Collection or Sir John Soane's Museum: which is bigger?
Wallace Collection, with income of £8m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Wallace Collection or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
National Museums Scotland, with income of £40m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Wallace Collection or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
National Galleries of Scotland, with income of £33m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, National Galleries of Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Wallace Collection or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales, with income of £49m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Wallace Collection or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
National Museums NI, with income of £26m against £8m at Wallace Collection on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums NI keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Sir John Soane's Museum or National Museums Scotland: which is bigger?
National Museums Scotland, with income of £40m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Sir John Soane's Museum or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
National Galleries of Scotland, with income of £33m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Sir John Soane's Museum or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales, with income of £49m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Sir John Soane's Museum or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
National Museums NI, with income of £26m against £4m at Sir John Soane's Museum on their latest filings. On margin, Sir John Soane's Museum keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Scotland or National Galleries of Scotland: which is bigger?
National Museums Scotland, with income of £40m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, National Galleries of Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Scotland or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales, with income of £49m against £40m at National Museums Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Museums Scotland or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
National Museums Scotland, with income of £40m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, National Museums NI keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Galleries of Scotland or Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales: which is bigger?
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales, with income of £49m against £33m at National Galleries of Scotland on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
National Galleries of Scotland or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
National Galleries of Scotland, with income of £33m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, National Galleries of Scotland keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales or National Museums NI: which is bigger?
Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales, with income of £49m against £26m at National Museums NI on their latest filings. On margin, Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales keeps more of each £100 as surplus.
Where do these figures come from?
Each institution's latest accounts filed at published annual reports. Each links to its full Spark Intel profile, which names the filing it comes from.
Related
UK holiday parks
Making waves or washed out: the great British staycation showdown
Center Parcs · Butlin's · Haven
3 institutions compared →
LEISURECinema chains
Blockbuster, or straight to streaming?
Cineworld · Odeon · Vue · Everyman · Picturehouse · Showcase
6 institutions compared →
LEISUREFestivals
Headliner, or second stage?
Festival Republic · Glastonbury · Edinburgh Festival Fringe · Manchester International Festival
4 institutions compared →
LEISUREIndoor snow slopes
Fresh powder, or running out of snow?
SnowCentres · SnowDome · Snozone
3 institutions compared →