Accounts to March 2025 · Single company accounts · Filed October 2025

Wise: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show

Wise Payments Limited's person with significant control on the Companies House register is Wise Financial Holdings Ltd. It holds 75% or more of the company. In the year to March 2025 Wise Payments Limited reported turnover of £1,235m.

£1,235m
Turnover, up 7.4%
£534m
Pre-tax profit
4,095
Employees
Registered name
WISE PAYMENTS LIMITED
Company number
07209813
Status
Active
Incorporated
31 March 2010
Registered office area
East London
Industry code on the register
64999: Financial service activities (excl insurance and pension)
Accounts
Single company accounts, this company only
Accounts type
Full accounts
Latest accounts
Year to March 2025, filed 30 October 2025

What does Wise do?

Wise is a money transfer business that lets people and businesses send money between currencies and hold it in a multi-currency account. It aims to make international transfers cheap, fair and simple, with low fees and fair exchange rates in place of expensive bank charges. It was launched in 2011 by two friends from Estonia living in London, who were paying high bank fees to move money between pounds and euros.

In brief: international money transfers · multi-currency account · people and businesses · launched 2011

Source: Wise's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.

Who owns Wise?

Wise Payments Limited
Wise · company 07209813
Wise Financial Holdings Ltd
Company · holds 75% or more

The Companies House register records Wise Financial Holdings Ltd as the person with significant control of Wise Payments Limited, company number 07209813. Wise Financial Holdings Ltd is itself company number 13214905. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights. The control was notified on 22 June 2021.

That places Wise Payments Limited inside a larger group. The accounts on this page are the company's own, not the wider group's.

The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.

Who runs Wise?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Wise Payments Limited.

All 4 current officers
OfficerAppointed
Lars Trunin16 June 2023
Jane Fahey28 June 2024
Rohan Basu6 September 2024
Matthew John Briers28 November 2024

Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

What did Wise file?

Wise Payments Limited reported turnover of £1,235m in the year to March 2025. That was up 7.4% on £1,150m the year before.

It reported 4,095 employees. The year before it reported 3,854.

It filed a pre-tax profit of £534m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £446m the year before.

Staff costs came to £272m. That is an average of £66,000 a head. It ended the year with £4,288m at the bank and net assets of £1,204m. It paid dividends of £56m.

Mar 2025£22.04£33.55£43.28£43.28 profit
Mar 2024£21.92£39.32£38.76£38.76 profit
Where each £100 of turnover goes: payroll (staff costs), financing (interest paid), other costs and pre-tax profit. Hover over a segment for its figure.
MeasureMar 2025Mar 2024
Turnover£1,235m£1,150m
Pre-tax profit£534m (filed)£446m (filed)
Employees4,0953,854
Staff costs£272m£252m
Average staff cost per head£66,000£65,000
Bank and cash£4,288m£2,981m
Net assets£1,204m£890m
Dividends paid£56m£29m
Interest paid£14m

Read the accounts to March 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.

Are there any charges against Wise?

Wise Payments Limited has registered 15 charges at Companies House, of which 1 is still outstanding. A charge is security a lender takes over a company's assets; one is satisfied when the lending behind it is repaid or released.

The outstanding charge
Charge holderCreated
The Governor and Company of the Bank of England as Security Trustee13 March 2019

Each charge, with its holder and dates, is on the Companies House register.

How Wise compares

Wise files as Wise Payments Limited, whose person with significant control is Wise Financial Holdings Ltd, with turnover of £1,235m in its latest filed year.

Questions about Wise

What does Wise do?

Wise is a money transfer business that lets people and businesses send money between currencies and hold it in a multi-currency account. It aims to make international transfers cheap, fair and simple, with low fees and fair exchange rates in place of expensive bank charges. It was launched in 2011 by two friends from Estonia living in London, who were paying high bank fees to move money between pounds and euros.

Who owns Wise?

The Companies House register records Wise Financial Holdings Ltd as the person with significant control of Wise Payments Limited. It holds 75% or more of the shares or voting rights.

How much does Wise make?

Wise Payments Limited reported turnover of £1,235m in the year to March 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £534m.

How many people work at Wise?

Wise Payments Limited reported 4,095 employees in the year to March 2025.

Who runs Wise?

The Companies House register lists 4 current officers for Wise Payments Limited. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.

  • Figures come from Wise Payments Limited's filings at Companies House, company number 07209813, for the period shown at the top of the page.
  • These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
  • Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
  • A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
  • Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
  • Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
  • Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.

Spark Intel, “Wise: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/wise/. Figures from Companies House filings for WISE PAYMENTS LIMITED (07209813).

Spark Intel · Company Profiles · Figures rounded to protect precision of source filings