The Athletic: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show
The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd. has no person with significant control recorded on the Companies House register. In the year to December 2025 it reported turnover of £20m.
- Registered name
- THE ATHLETIC MEDIA COMPANY UK LTD.
- Company number
- 11992602
- Status
- Active
- Incorporated
- 13 May 2019
- Registered office area
- East-Central London
- Industry code on the register
- 82990: Office administrative, office support and other business support
- Accounts
- Single company accounts, this company only
- Accounts type
- Full accounts
- Latest accounts
- Year to December 2025, filed 22 September 2026
What does The Athletic do?
The Athletic is a subscription sports journalism service, part of The New York Times. Subscribers pay for breaking news, live commentary, in-depth long reads and exclusive interviews. It covers the major North American leagues and, in the UK, every English Premier League club and many Championship clubs. Its specialist coverage of individual clubs, alongside league-wide analysis, sets it apart from general sports news sites.
In brief: sports journalism service · paid subscriptions · Premier League and US sports coverage · part of The New York Times
Source: The Athletic's own website, retrieved 24 September 2026.
Who owns The Athletic?
The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd., company number 11992602, has no person with significant control recorded on the register. The full record is linked below.
The full ownership record is on the Companies House register. Control is given in the bands the register uses, not as exact shareholdings.
Who runs The Athletic?
The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd..
All 2 current officers
| Officer | Appointed |
|---|---|
| David Stone Ortenberg | 9 October 2023 |
| Csc Cls (uk) Limited | 19 February 2025 |
Every current officer, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
What did The Athletic file?
The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd. reported turnover of £20m in the year to December 2025. That was up 3.2% on £20m the year before.
It reported 162 employees. The year before it reported 154.
It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.1m for the year, against a pre-tax profit of £1.1m the year before.
Staff costs came to £15m. That is an average of £93,000 a head. It ended the year with £0.6m at the bank and net assets of £4m.
| Measure | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Turnover | £20m | £20m |
| Pre-tax profit | £1.1m (filed) | £1.1m (filed) |
| Employees | 162 | 154 |
| Staff costs | £15m | £14m |
| Average staff cost per head | £93,000 | £92,000 |
| Bank and cash | £0.6m | £0.8m |
| Net assets | £4m | £3m |
| Interest paid | £31k |
Read the accounts to December 2025 on Companies House, where every set of accounts the company has filed can be downloaded as a PDF.
The Athletic files as The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd., with turnover of £20m in its latest filed year.
Questions about The Athletic
What does The Athletic do?
The Athletic is a subscription sports journalism service, part of The New York Times. Subscribers pay for breaking news, live commentary, in-depth long reads and exclusive interviews. It covers the major North American leagues and, in the UK, every English Premier League club and many Championship clubs. Its specialist coverage of individual clubs, alongside league-wide analysis, sets it apart from general sports news sites.
Who owns The Athletic?
The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd. has no person with significant control recorded at Companies House.
How much does The Athletic make?
The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd. reported turnover of £20m in the year to December 2025. It filed a pre-tax profit of £1.1m.
How many people work at The Athletic?
The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd. reported 162 employees in the year to December 2025.
Who runs The Athletic?
The Companies House register lists 2 current officers for The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd.. The full list, with appointment dates, is on the Companies House register.
- Figures come from The Athletic Media Company UK Ltd.'s filings at Companies House, company number 11992602, for the period shown at the top of the page.
- These are single company accounts: they cover this company alone, not any wider group.
- Pre-tax profit is the figure the company filed, for both years.
- A figure the filing does not disclose is shown as n/d. A zero in the filing is treated as not disclosed, never as nil.
- Rounding: below £0.1m in thousands, from £0.1m to £2m to one decimal place, from £2m to the nearest million.
- Ownership is shown in the control bands the register of people with significant control uses, not as exact shareholdings.
- Officers' names and appointment dates come from the Companies House register. Job titles come from the company's own website. The description of what the company does comes from its website, or is marked Spark Intel editorial where it is written from stable, checked facts, with the date either way.
Spark Intel, “The Athletic: who owns it, who runs it and what the accounts show”, updated 28 September 2026. https://www.spark-intel.co.uk/companies/the-athletic/. Figures from Companies House filings for THE ATHLETIC MEDIA COMPANY UK LTD. (11992602).